Memory Drawings - A Few Scattered Hours

from Zozaya Records

A1. Exit Wounds
A2. The Same Indifference
A3. This Never Happened
A4. That’s Telling
A5. The Right to Be Forgotten

B1. Trace Elements of Humility
B2. Early Summer Separation
B3. Days I’m Happy to Forget
B4. Dead to Me Now
B5. I Guess You’ll Never Know
B6. A Few Scattered Hours

LP includes full download of the album and of additional remixes:

1. Exit Wounds (Giulio Aldinucci remix)
2. The Same Indifference (Brendan Perry remix)
3. A Few Scattered Hours (The Green Kingdom remix)
4. The Right To Be Forgotten (Insides remix)
5. Dead To Me Now (Pin/Johnson remix)
6. I Guess You'll Never Know (Mücha remix)
7. Early Summer Separation (with Yvonne Bruner)
8. Days I'm Happy To Forget (with Yvonne Bruner)

*** This is the recommended retailer for continental Europe.
If you are interested in the CD version please visit Second Language music or ***

Releases December 11, 2020

Anglo/American/Australian collective Memory Drawings unknowingly began work on its fourth album, A Few Scattered Hours, during its spring 2018 tour of the UK and Spain, even if a majority of the tracks weren’t written until Joel Hanson returned to the US with a hammered dulcimer that he had left under bandmate (former Hood founder) Richard Adams’ guest room bed for the previous decade.

Nevertheless, the concept of the record began to take shape long before these 11 tracks were finished. Due to time constraints and the vast geographical distance between band members, Memory Drawings has always written music in short bursts of creativity, whenever a few scattered hours were available for Joel and Richard to make music in the same room together. However, the record title is also an indirect indictment of life in early 21st-century, neo-liberal America, where increasing numbers of people are consumed by the relentless necessity of fulfilling economic imperatives, leaving fewer and fewer hours to focus on the spiritual/artistic pursuits that make life worth living. A Few Scattered Hours is the band’s sonic antidote to this loss of personal autonomy, a reminder that other worlds—more compassionate and beautiful—are still possible.

In addition to Memory Drawings mainstays Richard Adams (Hood/The Declining Winter/Western Edges), Sarah Kemp (Brave Timbers), and Gareth S Brown (Hood), Joel reached out to a larger group of musicians, mostly old friends and former bandmates from his hometown of Minneapolis - Joel Smith, Tim Ritter, Craig Grossman and Mykl Westbrooks - in addition to cellist Peter Hollo (Tangents/FourPlay String Quartet) and viola-player Jessy Greene to help shape the record in their own unique ways. The result is the band’s most dense, song-oriented and percussion-heavy record to date.

Like Memory Drawings’ previous releases, 'A Few Scattered Hours' includes a bonus eight-track album of remixes and vocal versions, 'Remixes & Reworks,' which serves as a companion piece to the original instrumentals. This time around, the band had its work reinterpreted by an even more diverse group of musicians that includes Dead Can Dance leading man Brendan Perry, Giulio Aldinucci, Insides, The Green Kingdom, Cedric Pin/Glen Johnson (both ex-Piano Magic) and Mücha and Yvonne Bruner.

© 2020 Zozaya Records

All rights reserved

ships out within 3 days
edition of 300 
Purchasable with gift card

  €15 EUR or more 



Zozaya Records Helsinki, Finland

Zozaya is a group of MUSIC lovers. Our ears have nourished from a very eclectic range of sounds, allowing us to approach music without any prejudice. Our eagerness is to transfer to the physical format what music means for us. Hence, we care to the maximum about our designs and we go exclusively for the vinyl, which in our opinion personifies a special way of respecting the artist and her art. ... more

contact / help

Contact Zozaya Records

Report this merch item or account